You are here

Faculty & Staff

Administrative Faculty



Xiao-Dong Zhou, Ph.D.
Director, Institute for Materials Research & Innovation
Professor, Chemical Engineering, Stuller Endowed Chair
337-482-1453
zhou@louisiana.edu
www.zhoulab.com
Research Interests: Electronic Ceramics, Defect Chemistry, Nonequilibrium Thermodynamics, Electrochemistry, Surface and Interface of Functional Materials


Jonathan R. Raush, Ph.D., PE
Associate Director, Institute for Materials Research & Innovation
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
337-482-1807
jonathan.raush@louisiana.edu
C-ICME Lab (Cajun-Integrated Computational Materials Engineering)
Research Interests: Integrated Computational Materials Engineering, High Performance Metal Alloys, Advanced Materials Characterization Methods (thermophysical, mechanical, structural), Additive Manufacturing of Metals, Failure Analysis and Prevention

Biology 



Suzanne Fredericq, Ph.D.
Professor, Freeport McMoran/LEQSF Regents Professorship
337-482-1291
suzanne.fredericq@louisiana.edu
Seaweeds Laboratory
Research Interests: Biodiversity, Phylogeny, Taxonomy, Molecular Systematics and Biogeography of Marine Algae Worldwide (Special Focus on the Gulf of Mexico)



Sherry Krayesky-Self, Ph.D.
Master Instructor, Assistant Department Head
337-482-5234
sherry.krayesky@louisiana.edu
Undergraduate Research Lab
Research Interests: Biomineralization, Phycology, Cell Biology

Chemical Engineering 



William M. Chirdon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Graduate Coordinator
337-482-6564
william.chirdon@louisiana.edu
Website
Research Interests: Biomass Utilization, Polymers, Heat Transfer, Modeling, Sustainable Composite Materials



Dilip Depan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, BORSF Bioprocessing Professorship I
337-654-0943
dilip.depan@louisiana.edu
Biomedical Engineering and Advanced Materials (BEAM) Lab
Research Interests: Biomaterials, Nanomaterials, Tissue Engineering, Polymers



Ling Fei, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chevron Endowed Professorship
337-482-1277
ling.fei@louisiana.edu
Fei Lab
Research Interests: Energy Storage and Conversion, Drug Delivery, Catalysis, Water Purification

Chemistry 



Tolga Karsili, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
337-482-5678
tolga.karsili@louisiana.edu
Research Interests: Computational and Theoretical Chemistry, Atmospheric Chemistry, Photochemistry, Spectroscopy, Catalysis, Biomaterials



 


Radhey S. Srivastava, Ph.D.
Professor, Boudreaux/BoR Distinguished Professor
337-482-5677
radhey.srivastava@louisiana.edu
Website
Research Interests: Organometallic, Medicinal Inorganic Chemistry, Renewable Biomass Energy


Yu Wang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
337-482-5682
yu.wang@louisiana.edu
MacroArchiLab@ULLafayette
Research Interests: Design of Polymer Architectures via Controlled/Living Polymerization Methods, Applications of Polymeric Materials with Well-Defined Structures in Energy Storage and Conversion Devices, Organic Electronics, Nanodiagnostics, Therapeutics, Stimuli-Responsive Materials



Wu Xu, Ph.D.
Professor
337-482-5684
wu.xu@louisiana.edu
Biochemistry Lab
Website
Research Interests: Protein Function and Structure Relation in the Context of Signal Transduction Pathway Using a Combination of Experimental and Theoretical Approaches



Hui Yan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
337-482-9061
hui.yan@louisiana.edu
Yan’s Energy and environmental Surface lab (YEeS lab)
Research Interests: Heterogeneous Catalysis with Operando Spectroscopies, Synthesis, Fabrication, and Characterization of Hierarchical Materials for Electro-Catalysis and Energy Storage, Molecular Understanding of Interactions of Surfactants and Biomolecules, Development and Application of New Instruments in Surface Analysis

Civil Engineering 



Daniel D. Gang, Ph.D., PE
Professor, Phillip J. Burguieres/BORSF Endowed Professor
337-482-5184
daniel.gang@louisiana.edu
Center of Environmental Engineering and Protection (CEEP)
Research Interests: Novel Functional Material Development for Adsorptive Removal of Various Heavy Metals and Organic Pollutants from Aqueous Solutions



Mohammad J. Khattak, Ph.D., PE
Professor, McDermott International/BORSF Professor, M. Eloi Girard/BORSF Professor
337-482-5356
mohammad.khattak@louisiana.edu
Infrastructure and Materials Laboratory (IML)
Research Interests: Advanced Characterization of Infrastructure and Transportation Materials, Application of Nano-Technologies for Developing Advanced Infrastructure Materials, Pavement Design, Pavement Management, and Performance Modeling, Nondestructive Testing and Pavement Performance Evaluation, Numerical Modeling of Materials and Pavement Structures

Geosciences



Rui Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, John E. and Joretta A. Chance Endowed Professorship in Geophysics
School of Geosciences and Department of Physics
337-482-6920
rui.zhang@louisiana.edu
Exploration Geophysics Group
Research Interests: Exploration Geophysics, Reflection Seismology, Inverse Theory, CO2 Sequestration

Mathematics



Keng Deng, Ph.D.
Professor, Coca-Cola/BoRSF Endowed Professor in Mathematics
337-482-5286
keng.deng@louisiana.edu
Website
Research Interests: Partial Differential Equations, Applied Mathematics, Mathematical Biology



Xiang-Sheng Wang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
337-482-5281
xiangsheng.wang@louisiana.edu
Website
Research Interests: Asymptotic analysis, computational mathematics, dynamical systems, mathematical biology, orthogonal polynomials, and special functions

Mechanical Engineering



Alan A. Barhorst, Ph.D., PE, FASME
Professor, Alumni Association/LEQSF Professor, Department Head
337-482-6517
alan.barhorst@louisiana.edu
Nonlinear Dynamics and Robotics Lab
Research Interests: Large Format 3D Printing with Robots, Fundamental Dynamics of Nonholomic Mechanical Systems, Soft Robotics, Guidance and Control of Aero-Robots, Biomedicine Related to Retinal Hemorrhaging, Understanding ACL injuries in Humans  



William J. Emblom, Ph.D., PE
Instructor
337-482-5359
william.emblom@louisiana.edu
Metal Forming Lab
Research Interests: Sheet Metal Stamp Forming and Controls, Microscale Sheet and Tube Hydroforming and Control, Friction Stir Processing for Tubes and Cylinders



Tanvir Faisal, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
337-482-1342
tanvir.faisal@louisiana.edu
Musculoskeletal Mechanics & Multiscale Materials (4M) Lab
Research Interests: Biomaterials and Biomechanics, Architected Cellular Materials



Seonhee Jang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
337-482-6524
seonhee.jang@louisiana.edu
Multifunctional Materials and Devices Lab
Research Interests: Growth and Characterization of Functional Thin Films Using Plasma Enhanced Chemical Vapor Deposition of Organic/Inorganic Precursors, Development of Printing Technologies with Various Printing 

Petroleum Engineering



Ning Liu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Petroleum Engineering
337-482-6555
ning.liu@louisiana.edu
Research Interests: Enhanced Oil Recovery, CO2 Capture and Storage, Produced Water Treatment

Physics



Michalis Charilaou, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Dr. &. Mrs. Sammie W. Cosper/BORSF Endowed Professorship in Physics
337-482-1052
michalis.charilaou@louisiana.edu
Research Interests: Magnetism and Magnetic Materials, Monte Carlo Simulations, Micromagnetic Simulations, Ferromagnetic Resonance



Manavi Jadhav, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
337-482-6185
manavi.jadhav@louisiana.edu
Laboratory Astrophysics and Planetary Science
Research Interests: Presolar (Stardust) Grains, Meteoritics, Isotope Cosmochemistry, Circumstellar and Interstellar dust, Stellar Nucleosynthesis, Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry, Development of Analytical Techniques for the Study of Extraterrestrial Materials



Gabriela Petculescu, Ph.D.
Professor, Graduate Coordinator
337-482-6698
gabriela.petculescu@louisiana.edu
Acoustics Laboratory​
Research Profile
Research Interests: Elasticity, Magnetism, New Materials Development, Fe-based and Other Magnetostrictive Alloys, Properties and Performance of AM Alloys, Sensitization of Alloys, Fundamental Physical, Thermal, and Magnetic Properties of Materials, Ultrasonic Techniques, Ultrasonic Sensors, SAW Devices, Nondestructive Evaluation and Structural Health Monitoring (SHM)



Harry J. Whitlow, Ph.D., Sc.D.
Professor 
337-482-1011
harry.whitlow@louisiana.edu
Louisiana Accelerator Center (LAC)
Website
Research Interests: Interactions of Energetic Ions with Materials, Materials Analysis with Energetic Ion Beams, Modification of Material with Ion Beams, MeV Ion Microbeams, Mass Spectroscopy, Novel Chemical Analysis Methods

Staff



Jamie L. Malcombe, B.A. English, J.D.
Administrative Coordinator
337-482-5920
jamie.malcombe@louisiana.edu